Hu-Friedy PWR Air
Hu-Friedy's tabletop air polisher. It combines compressed air, heated water and powder, with a touch screen, a foot pedal and slim stainless-steel handpieces (90°, 120° and Perio). Hu-Friedy lists two powder chambers (Prophy and Perio), a one-touch Perio function that lowers air pressure, refilling without switching off, an automatic flush when switching powders and a "no powder" function. It is an air polisher only: it does not scale.
The Hu-Friedy brochure we reviewed is the North America edition (code NAM), and Hu-Friedy holds a Health Canada licence for the PWR AIR UNIT. We did not find a US FDA 510(k) record for it: confirm US availability and regulatory status with Hu-Friedy or the supplier before a request is passed on.
Request a quote Manufacturer pageSpecifications
| Model / article | PWR Air, APAIRPOL [1] [2] |
|---|---|
| Power supply | 100–240 V~, 50/60 Hz; max. 90 VA; fuses 5 × 20 mm, T 2AL, 250 V [1] |
| Water | Heated by a heating element (temperature steps not stated in the IFU technical data); inlet pressure 1.0–5.0 bar (14.5–72.5 psi), via supplied hose with quick coupling and removable filter [1] |
| Air | Inlet pressure 4.5–8.0 bar (65–116 psi), via supplied hose with filter and pressure reducer [1] |
| Air-polishing functions | "Prophy" and "Perio" functions selectable on the touch screen; continuous regulation by knob (IFU); three power modes low / medium / high (brochure) [1] [2] |
| Weight / size | 4.2 kg; 310 × 260 × 145 mm (L × W × H) [1] |
| Electrical classification | Class I; Type B applied part; IP20 (device), IP22 (foot pedal UPFTPEDAL) [1] |
| Operating conditions | 10–30 °C, 30–75% relative humidity, up to 3,000 m [1] |
| Handpieces | 90°, 120° and Perio stainless-steel handpieces; PWR Air Perio Subgingival Tips (sterile, disposable, 40 per box) [2] |
| Pocket depth (Hu-Friedy) | 90° and 120° handpieces: supra- and subgingival use in pockets up to 5 mm; Perio handpiece with disposable tip: optical access in pockets deeper than 5 mm [2] |
| Powders (Hu-Friedy) | PWR Classic (sodium bicarbonate) and PWR Perio (glycine), each in mint and neutral; "hydrophobic effect" to reduce clogging [2] |
| Other functions | One-touch Perio function (reduced air pressure); refill without powering down; automatic internal flush on powder change; energy-saving mode after 20 minutes of inactivity; continuous airflow to help prevent clogging [2] |
| Patients (IFU) | Intended for patients over 2 years of age. The IFU lists situations where use is not recommended (upper respiratory tract infections, chronic bronchitis or asthma, pregnancy and breastfeeding, radiotherapy, chemotherapy or antibiotic treatment, acute infectious oral lesions) and powder-specific cautions (low-sodium diet for bicarbonate powders) [1] |
| Warning (IFU) | The water spray temperature has a double safety mechanism; patients should still report an excessive increase in temperature [1] |
Included (Hu-Friedy brochure) [2]
- PWR Air device (APAIRPOL) and PWR foot pedal (UPFTPEDAL)
- Powder chambers Prophy (APPCPROPHY) and Perio (APPCPERIO), chamber cap (APPCCAP)
- 120° handpiece (APHP120) and Perio handpiece (APHPPERIO); Perio subgingival tips, 40 per box (APPERIOTIPS)
- K9 wrench tip, water and air supply hoses, O-ring set, irrigation circuit disinfection kit, water filter, cleaning needle kit
Where a figure is not listed, it was not published in the sources we checked (see “What we could not verify”). Numbers in brackets refer to the sources at the bottom of the page.
Who it may suit
- Practices that want a dedicated air-polishing console (separate from the dental unit's air and water) with heated water and a choice of handpieces.
- Hygienists who move between supragingival polishing and subgingival work (Perio handpiece with disposable sterile tips) in one appointment.
- For scaling in the same console see combined systems such as the Acteon OPUS, or pair it with a separate scaler.
Regulatory information
- Canada: Health Canada medical device licence 114969, "PWR AIR UNIT (with PWR AIR and PWR AIR PERIO handpieces)", licence holder Hu-Friedy Mfg. Co., LLC, device class II, first licence date Feb 25, 2026, status issued (Medical Devices Active Licence Listing, MDALL, checked Oct 16, 2026) [4]
Regulatory status can change. Always check the instructions for use and the current registration for your country before you buy.
Price
Taxes, shipping, set contents and availability vary by country and supplier. Request a quote for current prices.
Frequently asked questions
Does it heat the water?
Yes, with a heating element (IFU); the technical data do not list temperature steps, so confirm with Hu-Friedy. [1]
What do I need to connect it?
A compressed air supply (4.5–8.0 bar at the supplied hose) and a water supply (1.0–5.0 bar), with the supplied hoses and filters. Confirm with the installer that your compressor and water line meet these values. [1]
Can it treat deeper pockets?
Hu-Friedy states supra- and subgingival use in pockets up to 5 mm with the 90° and 120° handpieces, and optical access in pockets deeper than 5 mm with the Perio handpiece and disposable tip. The clinician decides the case. [2]
Does it scale?
No. It is an air polisher only. [2]
Is it available in the United States and Canada?
The Hu-Friedy brochure we reviewed is the North America edition (code NAM), and Hu-Friedy holds a Health Canada licence for the PWR AIR UNIT (see regulatory information). We did not find a US FDA 510(k) record for it: confirm US availability and regulatory status with Hu-Friedy or the supplier. [2]
What we could not verify
- US availability and FDA status: confirm with Hu-Friedy or the supplier before a request is passed on.
- Water temperature steps: not stated in the IFU technical data.
- Which handpieces (two or three) are in the package.
- The PWR Pair (air polishing plus ultrasonic scaling in one handpiece) is not covered: no official source was reviewed.
- The Hu-Friedy product page is largely script-rendered; the specifications come from the IFU and the brochure.
- FDA 510(k): no record found for this model in the openFDA 510(k) database (searched Oct 16, 2026). Ask the supplier for the clearance number or the exemption basis.
Related reading
Sources
- Hu-Friedy: PWR Air instructions for use (EN_UMM_PwrAir_00), technical data chapter (Manufacturer manual; accessed October 16, 2026)
- Hu-Friedy: PWR Air brochure (HFL-1065-NAM-2512, North America edition) (Manufacturer brochure; accessed October 16, 2026)
- Hu-Friedy: PWR Air product page (Manufacturer; accessed October 16, 2026)
- Health Canada MDALL: licence 114969 (PWR AIR UNIT (with PWR AIR and PWR AIR PERIO handpieces)) (Regulatory registry; accessed October 16, 2026)
Found an error or have newer data? Tell us and we will correct this page.
Ready to compare offers for the Hu-Friedy PWR Air?
We request quotes from several suppliers and aim to get you the best price. It is free for clinics, with no obligation to buy.
Request a quote