EMS AIRFLOW One vs Acteon AIR-N-GO easy (and Newtron P5 XS B.LED)
DentalAirPolisher Editorial Team. Last reviewed: October 16, 2026.
These are different kinds of device. The EMS AIRFLOW One is a tabletop air polisher with its own controls and air and water inlets. The Acteon AIR-N-GO easy is a handpiece that connects to the high-speed coupling of your dental unit. The Acteon Newtron P5 XS B.LED is a piezoelectric scaler (no air polisher), so it only enters the comparison as the scaler you might pair with an air polisher instead of buying a combined unit. This page lines up published specifications and regulatory records. We have not bench-tested any of them and do not rank them.
Short answer
- Choose by where the air and water come from: the AIR-N-GO easy uses your dental unit's coupling, the AIRFLOW One needs its own power, water and compressed-air connections.
- Choose by powders and labeling: AIRFLOW One is built around EMS's CLASSIC (sodium bicarbonate) and PLUS (erythritol) powders; AIR-N-GO easy uses Acteon CLASSIC (sodium bicarbonate), PEARL (calcium carbonate) and PERIO (glycine).
- Choose by whether you already have a scaler: EMS positions the AIRFLOW One for practices that already have a PIEZON NO PAIN module; the Newtron P5 XS B.LED is a standalone scaler from another maker.
Regulatory records (checked October 16, 2026)
| EMS AIRFLOW One | Acteon AIR-N-GO easy | Acteon Newtron P5 XS B.LED | |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA 510(k) | K190124 (decision 2019-10-20; listed with the AIRFLOW Prophylaxis Master), class II, ELC | K110379 "AIR-N-GO" (Satelec, decision 2011-12-08), class I, EFB (21 CFR 872.4200). Confirm it covers the "easy" model | K132322 "NEWTRON P5 XS B.LED" (decision 2014-03-11), class II, ELC |
| Health Canada | 102647 "AIRFLOW ONE", class II, issued | 96377 "AIR-N-GO EASY", class II, issued | 93254 "NEWTRON P5 XS B.LED", class II, issued |
A 510(k) is a finding of substantial equivalence, not an FDA approval. Ask the supplier to confirm the clearance covers the exact model and kit.
Side-by-side specifications
| EMS AIRFLOW One | Acteon AIR-N-GO easy | Acteon Newtron P5 XS B.LED | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Tabletop air polisher (no scaler) | Handpiece on the dental unit's coupling | Piezo scaler console (no air polishing) |
| Power | 100-240 V AC, 50-60 Hz, up to 700 VA (IFU) | None (uses the unit's air and water) | 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz, 60 VA (manual) |
| Air supply | 4.5-7 bar (about 65-102 psi), dry, oil-filtered (IFU) | Static 3-4 bar (about 44-58 psi) at the coupling (manual) | Not applicable |
| Water supply | 2-5 bar (about 29-73 psi) mains inlet, minimum flow 100 ml/min (IFU); a water bottle is listed in the kit (EMS page) | 5 bar (about 73 psi) maximum; flow at nozzle tip 15 ± 5 ml/min (manual) | Own tank, 300 or 500 ml; flow 5-40 ml/min (manual) |
| Heated water | Settings 0-4 (IFU; 40 °C default) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Handpieces / nozzles | AIRFLOW MAX (supragingival) and PERIOFLOW MAX (subgingival) | One handpiece; SUPRA 120° nozzle plus PERIO nozzles; Acteon's manual lists perio nozzles for pockets up to 8-10 mm | Newtron SLIM handpiece with LED ring; "over 80" tips (Acteon) |
| Powders | CLASSIC chamber (sodium bicarbonate) and PLUS chamber (erythritol) | CLASSIC (sodium bicarbonate), PEARL (calcium carbonate), PERIO (glycine, 25 µm) | Not applicable |
| Size and weight | 245 × 205 × 290 mm; up to 5 kg in operation (IFU; EMS's page lists 2.6 kg: confirm) | Length 180-205 mm; 114-155 g, depending on the adaptor (manual) | 260 × 138 × 185 mm; 1.8 kg with pedal, cord and 300 ml tank (manual) |
| Duty cycle | Continuous operation | Not stated | Intermittent: 10 min on / 5 min off (manual) |
| Reprocessing | Handpiece bodies validated for 1,000 sterilization cycles (IFU) | Main parts can be dismantled for sterilization; nozzles autoclavable (Acteon) | Follow Acteon IFU |
| Coupling versions | Not applicable (tabletop) | Acteon lists adaptors for KaVo, Sirona, W&H, Bien-Air and Midwest | Not applicable |
| Price | Price on request | Price on request | Price on request |
Notes: AIRFLOW One values are from the EMS instructions for use FB-621 (copy dated May 2023). AIR-N-GO easy values are from the Acteon user manual as hosted by a U.S. dealer. Newtron values are from Acteon manual NBADFR030K V11 (January 2023, French edition): confirm against the North American edition. EMS's English page lists 2.6 kg for the AIRFLOW One while the IFU states up to 5 kg in full operating condition; confirm with EMS.
What each choice means in practice
If you pick the AIR-N-GO easy: you need a coupling on the dental unit that matches one of the available adaptors and enough static air pressure at the coupling (3-4 bar). There is no extra console, and the same handpiece covers supra- and subgingival work by changing nozzle and powder (Acteon: use PERIO powder, not CLASSIC, subgingivally). The tradeoff is that water temperature and flow are whatever your unit supplies, and scaling is a separate device.
If you pick the AIRFLOW One: you add a console with its own touch panel, heated-water settings and chambers, plus a dedicated compressed-air and water connection (see the psi figures above), and installation by an EMS-certified person is recommended (IFU). EMS's labeling for the AIRFLOW One includes use as an air polisher in patients with periodontal disease; the IFU does not state whether the 5 mm subgingival indication of the AIRFLOW Prophylaxis Master also applies, so confirm with EMS.
If you also need a scaler: the Newtron P5 XS B.LED is a separate scaler console with its own tank. Pairing it with either polisher is a two-device set-up; a combined tabletop unit (see Combined Tabletop Systems Compared) puts both in one console. Acteon's manual warns that other makers' inserts can damage the handpiece and void the warranty.
Questions to ask suppliers
- What is the FDA 510(k) or Health Canada licence number for this exact model and kit (for the AIR-N-GO easy: does K110379 cover it)?
- For the AIR-N-GO easy: does my dental unit's coupling have an adaptor, and what air pressure does the coupling deliver?
- For the AIRFLOW One: is it currently orderable in the U.S. or Canada (some retailers have listed it as discontinued) and what is the warranty?
- Which powders does the quote include and what does a pack cost? Does using another brand's powder change the warranty?
- What is the service turnaround in my state or province?
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper?
Price on request for both. Quotes will show the difference; we request quotes from several suppliers and aim to get you the best price.
Can the AIR-N-GO easy do subgingival work?
Acteon's manual describes perio nozzles used with PERIO powder (glycine) for subgingival polishing, up to 8-10 mm for the Perio nozzle. These are Acteon labeling statements, not a comparison with EMS's labeling.
Can I use erythritol with the AIR-N-GO easy?
Acteon's documents list CLASSIC, PEARL and PERIO powders. Ask Acteon about other powders and the warranty.
Do I need a scaler with the AIRFLOW One?
It does not include one. EMS positions it for practices that already have a PIEZON NO PAIN module.
Related pages
- Catalog entry: EMS AIRFLOW One
- Our editorial review: Acteon AIR-N-GO easy
- Catalog entry: Acteon Newtron P5 XS B.LED
- Air polisher handpiece vs combined unit
- Combined tabletop systems compared
Sources (checked October 16, 2026)
- EMS AIRFLOW One, instructions for use FB-621 (copy hosted by a U.S. dealer, May 2023) and EMS U.S. page: www.ems-dental.com/products/airflow-one (confirm with supplier)
- Acteon AIR-N-GO easy user manual (copy hosted by Prime Dental Supply): www.primedentalsupply.com/mwdownloads/download/link/id/8622 ; Acteon U.S. page: www.acteongroup.com/en-US/products/precision-treatment-equipment/air-polishing-u
- Acteon Newtron P5 XS B.LED user manual NBADFR030K V11 (January 2023)
- FDA 510(k): K190124, K110379, K132322 via api.fda.gov/device/510k.json?search=k_number:Kxxxxxx
- Health Canada MDALL licences 102647, 96377, 93254: health-products.canada.ca/api/medical-devices/
Request a quote / where to buy
If you want quotes for the models you are comparing, tell us what you need and, with your consent, we request quotes from equipment suppliers on your behalf and contact you about them.
This request form is separate from our editorial content. We may receive compensation from suppliers when a quote request leads to a sale; this never changes what we write (see our editorial standards). Free for clinics; no obligation to buy.